The Glengarry News

Mayors acclaimed

publisher Jul 27, 2018 - 3:02pm

North Glengarry’s Jamie MacDonald and South Glengarry’s Frank Prevost have been promoted from deputy mayor to the mayor’s post without opposition after nominations closed today at 2 p.m.

In North Glengarry, Kenyon Councillor Jeff Manley has been re-elected by acclamation while Johanne Wensink has returned to council as Maxville’s representative.

Bob Proulx joins Councillors Brian Caddell and Carma Williams in the race for deputy mayor.

Naval Gupta was a late addition to the ballot, challenging Michel Depratto for the Alexandria councillor’s post. Raymond Quesnel also entered the race late, going up against Andrew McCormick and Brenda Noble for the Lochiel councillor seat.

In the contest for Councillor At Large, incumbent Jacques Massie faces Kevin van den Oetelaar and Louise Quenneville.

Running to succeed Wendy MacPherson as Upper Canada District School Board trustee are Jim Bancroft, John Danaher and Marshall Wilson.

Acclaimed are Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario incumbents Ron Eamer and Todd Lalonde.

Also re-elected by acclamation are Conseil scolaire de district catholique de l’Est ontarien member Jonathan DeSerres and Conseil des écoles publique de l’est Ontario rep Lisa Benoit-Lèger.

In South Glengarry, Ellery Lafave is vying for deputy mayor along with Jacqueline Milner and Lyle Warden.

No less than 12 candidates are running for three councillor posts. They are incumbents Trevor Bougie and Bill McKenzie and challengers Joanne High, Stephanie Jaworksi, Martin Lang, Jo-Ann Periard, Glenn Patton, Claude Bourcier, Duncan Wightman, Hanz Schulz, David Small and Sam McDonell.